Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    10. Trip influence

    May 25, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Going back to what I was hoping to learn on this trip about not being in control and me being okay with that. I think I learned that in some aspect. The first day I think I struggled with the unknown like buses being late or not stopping at the spot they’re supposed to be at or how to get places and Mads little turn around because of her gps. Those things I had no control over and it made me worried for the first day but I convinced myself that enjoying the trip and making memories was more important than worrying about every little detail. To be honest we all had little control over those details and it wasn’t Mads fault public transportation failed us a couple times. But what was the sense in worrying. By trying to keep this mindset I feel like I actually got to enjoy our time, the people, and being in Greece. This also translated to our service work by staying calm it was easier to interact with the kids. The second day when we were doing arts and crafts watching everyone interact was moving. Getting to talk to the parents or watching them laugh as we were playing with Daveed was enough relief to know we weren’t doing the worst job. However that entire time I didn’t worry once about if we were doing enough I was just living in the moment.Read more