Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 16

    5. Greek Leader I Met

    24 maja 2023, Grecja ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    One Greek leader that we met while in Greece was Kayra. At first she seemed a little quiet to me but I knew she couldn’t possibly be quiet trying to run a NGO in a foreign country. I liked that she stood so strong in what she wanted to do and that after being with other organizations her realizing they didn’t fit exactly what she wanted to do. I think it’s crazy having two jobs LWB keeping her busy but she knew and calculated how many flights she’d have got work in order to support herself and the organization. I think it was the first day we met her after we laid out the paintings we were all just standing around and so I asked her if she needed any help. She needed to get lunch orders for everyone 19 of us plus her, the French students, and Mohammed it was a lot for one person so I worked on that and then Mads and I helped her pick up the souvlaki. It was then I got to learn more about her we bonded over our love for animals and she tried to convince me numerous times to bring a Greek dog home with me. I don’t know how she balances it all. If we think about the leadership process Kayra is the leader then her followers being Mohammed, refugees, other NGOs, and maybe even the community. Her context is never ending running out of places to house her current members of LWB, if they’re not back on their feet by a year, art isn’t selling and that’s just to name a few. I don’t know how many people would sacrifice their time and lives away from their family and their home to ensure there’s a space for others to feel safe and give them an option. Czytaj więcej