Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 17 Oviedo to Grado 353.8 km

    October 9, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Left at 7 am after a great sleep.

    It was quite challenging getting out of the city. I think it took around 45 minutes .

    I finally saw 2 pilgrims who breezed by me walking very quickly.

    The trail is marked with bronze shells embedded in the sidewalk.
    After that there were sign posts. So already it is fairly easy to follow the way.

    It was quite chilly this morning. I was wearing my T-shirt. Maybe I will be using my merino wool after all.🤔

    The air smelled great. I was so happy to be on dirt paths and in the trees. The countryside is lovely.

    I kept seeing more pilgrims throughout the day.....probably 20 or more. Most are Spanish I would say.

    There is also a big French group. So it definitely is busier here than the Norte.

    I am also discouraged at the problem of not having enough. accommodation as well. I remember the same problem on the Camino Frances. last year but I thought it wouldn't extend to this Camino as well.

    It has prevented me from tackling a route I really wanted to do. But so it is. I am trying not to let it get to me.

    Very hot at the end of the day 30 C I believe. I have a sun protection T-shirt that I wear but the rays just penetrate right through you.

    Ready for a good night's sleep🤗
    Read more