Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Fries, VA

    March 10, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Fries is pronounced "freeze", as odd as that may seem. Driving up and down the mountains, stoppng at bakeries and music stores. They're about two months ahead of our spring here. The terrain reminds me of Vermont.
    My parents gave me the name "Daisy Nell" that sounds like I came from these mountains, even though we were New England "wasps" with some celtic roots. That must be why these old banjo tunes sing their way right into my heart. I introduced myself at the jam last night, and one gal said, "Oh, howdy, Daisy Nell, I'm Ginny Mae and this is Rhonda Jean, and that's my husband Junior".
    Tomorrow we head home after this southern journey. Our plan is to stop in Amish country for one more night on the road. As the old saying goes, when you go somewhere to get away from it all you usually find that you brought it all with you.
    Goodnight Mary Ellen, Goodnight John Boy....
    Read more