Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    First new country in over two years…

    June 1, 2022 in Poland ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Was lovely to just wander around Old Town Warsaw. No goals. Just re-immersing myself in hearing languages I don’t understand in streets I’ve never walked. Visited the warrior mermaid which seems like the symbol all cities should be jealous of… had a coffee and smoked a cigar thinking of my honey… drank a Manhattan - which I’ll be honest - I did not know included absinthe as an ingredient (might just be the Eastern European version lol)… and finished the “day” component with a bison grass vodka. In a hilarious glass to be honest. While he would have balked at the touristy location… he would have sucked it up for me knowing we were headed somewhere much better shortly. He did that kind of thing. Also. Bison grass vodka as bribery is always a good strategy. Finally, our shared hatred of accordion music continues. #butwhy

    Moving onto the “evening” component I was fortunate enough to head to Bez Gwiazdek for dinner. It was everything we looked for in a meal. Local ingredients. Regional wines. Ridiculous tastes (the parsnip with sourkraut foam and garfish with red peppers in tomato broth my faves). It was full on. I could almost see James across from me doing those eyes he did when he was so excited by something… such as really well made food. He was, for sure, smiling - with those dimples- somewhere about this.

    But. I won’t lie. It was tough going without him. He should be here with me for random 8 hour layovers on the way to a friend’s wedding. Eating new food. Planning new projects over vodka and wine. Laughing at the little things. Asking for more of the really good things. But. Life requires adaptation. And I continue to try.
    Read more