Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 161

    Bangkok, back to modernity

    July 31, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    About 15 years ago, a little girl saw her older brother take a journey to a land with a weird name called Thailand. How big is the world? How beautiful can things be? Her eyes were just glowing from admiration and jealousy. And then, she just promised herself that she was gonna go there once she turned eighteen. A promised she kept until the present day. Years came and went and her desire for travelling became bigger and bigger and also her ambitions, expanding to southeast asia, the whole continent, and ultimately just wanting to see the whole world. She was just so driven to this concept that she didn't even know was called backpacking even though she hadn't ever even seen or heard of before. The only thing she knew though, its that it was for her, and this was her big dream for a veryvery long time.
    Probably, I would have become a traveller either way (its just something in my blood), but Thailand was the seed to everything where I find myself standing today. So I owed it to myself to show my 7 year old little girl how she would be capable of turning her dreams true and make them go even further than she could have ever imagined.

    First stop of many more, around the world known country, Bangkok. After crossing a joke of a border from Cambodia, literally walking, I found a minivan that took me to Trat. Once I got there, my though was to continue hitchiking, but I couldn't resist to the appeal of it dropping me on the bus station and finding a direct bus in 20 minutes to Bangkok for 7$. So I arrived a day before to the big capital, and found myself in this big, new and modern city. For some reason it reminded me to Vancouver, with its skytrain and very nice buildings. I took the first day to do all this things I was unable to do for the past months, such as finding zipbags or probiotics. And then I met some friends I knew from Cambodia. At night Alliette arrived, and my solo journey took a break for the following month. It was so exciting to see her after such a long time, she was also the first person I backpacked with, so Thailand just made sense, it was going back to the origins, to were I was, what I wanted, what I needed and what I've turned into. I am not sure who was more shocked by Bangkok, her with its simplicity, dirtiness and mess of a poor country, or me, finding development, organization and modernity at the same time. I guess everything depends from where you're looking at the place from, so I found it very funny.
    The next day we had a beautiful and relaxing Thai Massage and then we visited Cabbages and Condoms, a condom themed restaurant who uses all the money to sexual education in rural areas of the country. After that, we got ready for a longlong train jorney towards the north of the country.

    📍Essentials: Cabbages and Condoms, Thai Massage at Lavender Massage
    Read more