Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 288

    Sydney (Bondi)

    December 5, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Last month an a half in Sydney made a lot more sense than the strong arrival. Still working a lot (around 12-15 hours a day in hospitality), still feeling a bit out of place and lonely. But started making a very nice group with the gallery crew, had some reallyreally fun nights out (and some aweful hangovers after that) explored a good range of cool speakeasy bars and pubs, tried (and failed) at trivia night and explored a different side of Sydney. In the gallery ended up mostly working as a host (which was a position I really didn't enjoy), but I was also the only person who would be able to do all the positions, so I mpved from the bar, the section waitressing, the hosting... and appreciate it the big learnings on the field. Adter that, I was always quite happy in China Diner, my unwritten position was head bartender, so managed all the bar and everything related to it, and also felt very essential in the team, and also got the chance to reallyreally grow as a bartender, which I will confess, is a job that I enjoy very much, making cocktails, running the bar and making all sorts of organizations, creating, innovating and socializing in a very different way with the costumers than on the floor, just in a relax and fun way. During this time I was living in Bondi Junction (very convinient location close to both of my jobs), and with a way more tidy and clean appartment, unfortunately the roomates athmosphere was a bit weird because they would not interact or use the common areas so I still felt quite like a stranger in the place and with the girls who rented me the room having constant reappatences to the place (so maybe short term rentals are not so ideal). Did the Bondi-Cogee walk on a very overcrowded Christmas Day, escaped to Jervis bay with a rental car with Matt, workedworkedworked during the holidays and had a very interesting and different New Year with my indonesian friend Feric. During all this time, re-met with Sarah, a canadian girl I met in Laos, and with who we decided to explore Tasmania. Indeed, Sydney was a veryvery weird period of my life, intense, tough and full of difficulties, but at the same time with so much growth, learning and showing myself how far my limits could go. After this, I was also happy and ready to part ways, and search for a new adventure and place. Last night was quite beautiful, at China Diner got invited for dinner and got reminded that I was appreciate it, and in the gallery, went out with most of my coworkers, where even my boss joined (I really appreciated Antoine so it made me very happy that he came and really took the time to say goodbye). At the end of the night, ended up going for my first and last swim in Bondi, and had lots of fun with someone who seemed like such a different person. So I felt like I was leaving Sydney with my heart full of new friends and experiences, ready for the next step.

    📌 Essentials: Tamarama Beach, Gordon's Bay
    🍸Drinks: The long Goodbye, Baxter Inn, Shady Pines
    Read more