Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 563

    Darwin

    6 сентября 2023 г., Австралия ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    Flew to the highest end on the center (what they call the top end) to begin a van roadrip through the outback with Romina (my closest friend since we met in Hobart). I got there a few days earlier to visit the area and sort out everything that was needed. After the relax and confort in the east, the only hostel of the city was a big ugly party hostel that made me have to escape for as long as I couldn't keep my eyes open from the place. So I went market hopping, walked and walked the city, visited the art gallery and museum of Darwin and some other aboriginal galleries. Darwin was a big shock for me, because it wasn't like the clean and white country that you are sold in the east, Darwin was dirty, with a really high population of aboriginals (living in really bad conditions, lots of drug and alcohol problems, mental diseases, commiting a high rate of crime and homeless). It never felt unsafe (at least to the level of other countries outside of happy-safe australia), but it was sad and indeed gave you a lot to think of. On this visit I also met Liam, a realreal australian guy that liked to haunt crocodiles with who I had lots of fun and he took me to a beautiful lookout of the area of Darwin. After that, got all the preparations ready for what it would be the longest short cut existing! Picked up Romina from the airport, and was ready to set off towards the real australian world, the outback.

    📍Essentials: local market hopping on the weekends, walk the waterfront
    Читать далее