Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Betanzos

    August 21, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    My longest day so far with 25 k walking. I kept on running into the guys and spent some time talking with Alejandro, who wanted to practice his English for his job. The walk was a real roller coaster ride and I one point we got down to a beach and then up steep hill like at the biginning of today's walk in Pontedeume

    I also had lunch again courtesy of another Camino angel. It was a nice spot nestled amongst the trees in a eucalyptus forest. It was perfect timing because I had another hard up hill slog just before I came up on the food.

    I also tied my shell back on my backpack. The knot had become undone as I was leaving breakfast, Perigrinos tie on a scallop shell to show they are pilgrims. And there are.many places to get one including stands on the way where you can pick up a shell and leave a donation.

    I crossed a Roman bridge today. There are still scattered around the countryside from when Spain was a Roman colony.

    Betanzos is a small pretty hilly midieval city. When you enter through the old gates the way markers point to the left and another steep uphill walk. What a surprise! I found out later after I went out to explore that if I had turned right streets are less steep, and I could have meandered back to the place I was going. Lots of beautiful small Gothic churches too.
    Read more