Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Stage 24: Reliegos-León

    October 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    6 km/ 3.6 miles on foot, 20km/12.4 miles by taxi, 53°-65°
    Gimped the 6 km into Mansilla de las Mulas this morning, where I found coffee, food, an ATM, a pharmacy and a taxi to León, in that order. The wonderful pharmacist fitted me with a slip on ankle compression sleeve and some ibuprofen topical gel. I now have the hope of actually completing the Camino.
    I found out the bus to León wouldn't run till 4:19 pm so sprung for a taxi. Arrived to a bustling León with everyone out strolling, visiting and sitting in cafes. Toured the awesome cathedral, perused a medieval craft fair and now am treating myself to lunch on the Plaza Regla with a fantastic view of the cathedral. Will check into my hotel at 3:00 pm.
    Addendum: Discovered the reason the only room I could find in León was in a 4 star hotel was because their big autumn festival dedicated to the lesser known Saint Froilán is in progress, ending tomorrow. There will be live music tonight in Plaza Mayor, right outside this hotel. Party!
    Read more