Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Stage 23: Calzadilla-Reliegos

    October 7, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    17.6 km/10.9 miles, 53°-69°, 5 hours
    That's a rather fast pace for me, and probably why the right foot is trying to convince me it's developing shin splints. Ice, elevation and ibuprofen are putting that idea to rest.
    I stayed in a lovely casa rural last night in the tiny town of Calzadilla de los Hermanillos where the hardworking husband and wife proprietors served us 4 guests a gorgeous dinner of local specialties made with fresh local ingredients including more vegetables than I've eaten the whole way.
    I walked out this morning with Kate from New York who kindly walked at my slow pace for the first 3 miles and the wonderful conversation and comradery made the flat farmland fly by. Then a fascinating woman from England came by and accompanied me to the turning to my stop for the day, as I was worried about missing it after yesterday. I think that's the longest I've walked with anyone and it was such a gift to help keep me going on this rather long featureless stretch with no services. The Camino provides!
    Tomorrow will be a long day, 15 miles into the city of León. If right foot is still cranky, I may take the bus the last 8 kms to avoid the trek on pavement through the industrial outskirts.
    Read more