Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    A quick dash to Dingle

    June 1, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    Eight days out and the beginning of a new month with hopefully better weather. Ha! Dream on.

    I woke up after a medical procedure and having been tested positive for covid.
    When I woke up a second time I was cured!
    Luckily it was only a dream. I normally don’t remember my dreams but this one I did.

    It had started raining last night and was still raining this morning but the wind had gone.
    After breakfast Brian did a run up town while I visited the O’Meara’s to discuss plans.

    We decided to continue onto Dingle as the forecast for the next few days was not great and we’d prefer to be stuck in Dingle with its better facilities than here in Knightstown.
    We motored the whole way across the bay as it was wet, cold and there was a stiff breeze on the nose. We just wanted to get there and tie up.

    Unfortunally Fungie was gone so we had no welcome, didn’t hang about and went straight to the marina and tied up at 15.00.

    We had a brief chat with Peter, the Marina Superintendent, got hooked up to power and turned on the heating to warm ourselves. I did say it was June and not November?

    Brian and I went up the town for a walk and later Jim & Angela joined us.
    On the way back, Jim & Brian went into a chipper and ordered dinner while Angela and went directly back to the boats to get the tables ready.
    Can't remember what we had but it involved some type of fish and was delicious.

    We had the heating on all evening and after watching some tv we headed to bed knowing that we are not going anywhere tomorrow.
    Today is Tuesday and it looks like we won't be leaving till Friday so we just have to chill out.
    The one great thing about retirement is that I have plenty of time.
    Read more