Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Killala deja vu

    July 2, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    I had been in contact with ‘Second Chance’ as they made their way north towards me and we had decided that rather than have them come to Sligo that I would sail back to Killala on Friday and we’d meet there tomorrow before continuing on to Killybegs the following day.

    I had spent nine nights in Sligo and enjoyed the break and Maeve's visit but now was looking forward to getting to sea again. We were not even half way round yet.
    I had no takers for crew so it was going to be single handed from now on. I wasn’t too concerned as I have sailed ‘Eureka’ solo before.

    I called to the Harbour Master to settle my account and he kept me talking or more accurately listening and listening and it was hard to get away.

    I eventually left the pontoon about an hour later than I was expecting.
    I motored slowly down the river, checking the engine for leaks as I went along.
    There are some large houses on the river bank. Someone had plenty of money.

    Once in the open sea I hoisted the sails and began sailing on a reach in a northerly wind.
    The wind stayed light but except for a half an hour of motoring, I was able to sail to Killala Bay and picked up a visitor mooring next to ‘Second Chance’ in Kilcummin at 16.45.

    Jim and Angela had arrived before me and had gone ashore.
    I decided to stay aboard as it was a bit sloppy at the anchorage. I wouldn’t have been able to get the outboard on the dinghy on my own and it was a bit too far to row comfortably ashore.

    All that was about to change……… we were in for a surprise!

    I got a phone call from a friend from Cobh, the bold Paddy Meehan. He was in Killala looking for us.
    I was trying to give directions to Paddy and end the call quickly in order to contact Jim & Angela as I could see that Jim was just about to launch the dinghy to return to ‘Second Chance’.
    I couldn’t contact Jim so tried Angela to tell them to stay ashore and as the phone rang I was saying to myself; answer, answer!
    Luckily Angela answered in time but due to the poor reception only understood the basic message to stay put.

    I quickly launched my dinghy, flung in a fender to act as a seat and rowed ashore having ‘fun’ with the chop.
    Once ashore I had to explain the reason for the change of plan.

    I had presumed that Paddy was arriving on four wheels and maybe with his wife, Mary and was spending a few days in the area. Not for the first time have I got it wrong with Paddy.
    After a short time around the corner came a scooter and straight away I recognised the helmet, Paddy’s!!

    After warm greetings, Paddy’s new scooter was parked up and as the pub was now opened, we grabbed a pew outside and caught up with the news.
    The evening ended up with all five of us having dinner on ‘Second Chance’ and Paddy spending the night on ‘Eureka’.

    It turned out that Paddy had driven up just to meet us and was intending to head home the following day but we persuaded him to stay a second night and to drive around and meet us in Killybegs.
    Read more