Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Rain drops keep falling. . . . .

    July 4, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    The 4th of July. The Americans are on holidays.

    Paddy left this morning just before it started to rain.
    I had to spend the day putting the engine back together. Yes, a mishap.
    Despite having tested the engine including a run on full throttle and everything looking good with my previous repair, one of the heat exchanger boots came off on my way into Killybegs yesterday.
    I had to start again and flush out the engine only this time I didn't need the instruction manual to do it.

    I tightened up everything tighter than the last time and got Jim, being an engineer to check everything before I began testing again.
    Basically I think what happened was that I was afraid to over tighten the clips on the rubber boots and one came off as a result.
    Strange though that it stayed on and there were no leaks during my testing even when I had it running at full revs and yet it came off on the way into Killybegs when I only had the engine running at much lower speed.
    We'll blame the gremlins.

    I got talking to a couple on another boat and discovered that they had bought their previous boat 'Stella Maris' from a Cobh man, Mick Coleman who keeps his present boat 'Ré Nua' at East Ferry.
    It was a pity that I hadn't known that when Paddy was still here as he had sailed on the 'Stella Maris' to Newfoundland with Mick many years ago.

    We got a takeaway and ate aboard 'Second Chance' before having an early night.
    Unfortunally the heavy rain and wind meant we are staying put tomorrow.
    Read more