Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    La Siesta

    June 11, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 55 °F

    If you are trying to get something done after a morning hike such as, banking, or market, or pharmacy, you must take into account Siesta.

    The Spanish word siesta derives originally from the Latin word hora sexta "sixth hour" (counting from dawn, hence "midday rest"). Due to this schedule, workers don't eat lunch at work, but instead leave work around 2pm and eat their main meal which is the heaviest at lunch time. Following the heavy lunch, they take a siesta or nap and have tea upon waking up. For dinner, they usually have a smaller meal.

    On the way out of town I was lucky to be walking by the church as the host was opening it up. I got my stamp, dropped a € in the plate and sat in a pew. He’s bustling around and then hits the audio switch and on comes the St. Louis Jesuits and I lost it. He came and sat by me quietly. I shook his hand, Gracias Señor. Muy buen por mi corazone y mi spirito.
    Read more