Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36 - A Lovely Bunch of Coconuts

    January 14, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    This morning we nearly got caught out when we saw people loitering near OUR sun beds. I managed to get our towels down whilst others dithered.

    To spice up our morning we ordered a couple of iced coffees from our very nice receptionist/manager, who we now know to be called Pat. Jackie enquired about extending our stay in our room for an additional 4 days & Pat gave us very favourable rates so that was a done deal.

    During the morning I bought a couple of lovely coconuts from Pat’s bunch she had for sale. Jackie & I then discussed our itinerary for the coming weeks in Thailand & came up with a plan. We would stay here at Salad Beach on Ko Phangan for a total of 8 days, then go to Koh Tao for 5 nights, then spend another 8 nights, probably back at Salad Beach for another 8 days before heading to Phuket and home. We would prefer our stay could go on & on!

    We also got chatting with Mandi, who has been staying at our resort since the beginning of December with her 19 year old son, Jude. Mandi is English who is now a self employed working with old people, but has spent most of her adult life travelling, mainly around Asia. She is an interesting character, but also quite a chatterer.

    Lunch was back at Dubble Duke for a couple of cheap beers. I had stir fried mushrooms with chicken & rice, whilst Jackie had a bowl of french fries.

    After lunch, we borrowed our new friend’s lilo & took it out to sea for a relaxing float. It seemed to have developed a couple of punctures whilst it was in our possession & so we blew it up & returned it as good as new………for a few minutes.

    Mandi got her own back, when she asked if I had any books she could read as she had read every English novel in the whole of Salad Beach. I generously gave up my book I was currently reading, but quite frankly not really enjoying. She did give me a DCI Banks book in exchange.

    That evening we returned to Spicy Salad for another romantic meal. Jackie & I ordered dishes that I cannot recall the names of. Jackie had a pork & rice dish, whilst I had a chicken noodle curry from northern Thailand. Both were very tasty, but the portions were too small for us. We left the restaurant certainly less than full & we didn’t have any food back in the room.

    We compensated with a couple of Hong Thongs whilst watching the 1st two episodes of the excellent Afterlife series 3 on Netflix.

    I also fixed the malfunctioning flash on my camera.Apparently the flash doesn’t work in silent mode, which I had switched it to for my covert photos. The result of all this means that I didn’t get any pictures of Jackie eating!!

    Song of the Day: On & On by Longpigs.
    Afterlife by Nothing But Thieves.
    Read more