Satellite
Show on map
  • T-3 days

    April 23 in Denmark ⋅ ☁️ 4 °C

    Backpack (Osprey Stratos 36) is packed - 8kg without water and food. Recommendation is 10% of body weight - well, it is almost spot on.

    Little bit about my preparations:

    Training: Almost 3 years of walking and last 10 months actively training for Camino. I am in good shape and 30km/day as average on Camino should not be the problem. Maybe I will become wiser when I get to first bigger hill/mountain

    Hostels: I will be sleeping Camino style - in hostels with bunk beds. The biggest one has 180 beds - smallest one I have booked is with 4 beds. I have booked all 25 nights from home - not the true Camino style, but considering I will be walking 30 km/day and I don´t want to risk getting to preferred hostel where all beds are occupied. Not a funny scenario after walking for 8 hours.

    Food on Camino: Simple breakfast is included in hostels. Lunch ans snacks will be taken along the road - in small villages and towns. I basically don't care if it is restaurant food or supermarket sandwich - as long I get my calories - I am happy.

    Camino passport - my personal documentation I am taking the Way of St. James. Camino passport gives you access to cheap hostels, camino meals (3 course dinner for 10 euro) and the way to document you are taking Way of St. James is collecting stamps at hostels, restaurants, churches. Even bars and private room landlords have their own stamps. I will be collecting all the stamps I can get - and if Camino passport is full of stamps - you just buy a new one. Great souvenir.
    Read more