Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Salzburg

    October 9, 2023 in Austria ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    I was so excited to wake up in Austria this morning! I started the day with a walking tour with a local guide. The guide was great and the tour was very interesting! The best part of the tour is that it included a lot of the sites from The Sound of Music.. I will be rewatching this when I get home to relive the memories from today.

    The rest of the day was free time...yay! My friends and I had a very steep uphill walk to a fortress. The walk was enjoyable because we were all enjoying Nutella crepes! We were surprised to find several biergartens within the fortress. It was so entertaining to imagine people living in the fortress and firing cannons many years ago.

    I took the bus into town and roamed around and did some shopping then relaxed in one of Salzburg's squares. The city has some Italian influence, so there are several squares with cafes and markets. Speaking of markets, I ordered a butter pretzel...amazing!

    We wound up at a cozy Austrian pub and enjoyed homemade Austrian pasta and a blonde/wheat beer. We finished our wonderful day by sharing an apple strudel and chocolate cake.

    I am already sad to leave beautiful Austria tomorrow morning.
    Read more