Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 22 - Kuta (Lombok)

    July 3, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    We woke up early (6 am) . In travel, we usually to be wake up early, to prepare ours bags quickly, go out without breakfast, without coffe. Usually I can't ! When I m in France I have to have 1 hour to be ready , and at leat a big coffee.
    I felt better than yesterday night.
    We didn't booked any boat ticket. We would like to try to have ferry boat, and to have the local price.
    Surprise, when we arrived at the port, we understood that the ferry was further. Here we could take only the "fast boat" (not really faster than the ferry... but more expensive).
    So we didn't have the choice. We took a ticket there. I paid (500k RP, 30€.... for Indonesia it's really expensive).
    Largot planned to go in Nusa Penida (small island close to Bali) before Lombok.
    Personally, I wanted just leave Bali. So I took a ferry for Lombok directly.
    I love to take ferry.
    Jan Willem (the second Dutch Guy) was on the way for Nusa Penida to Lombok too.
    So, we met together at Bangsal (port of Lombok) to share the Taxi to Kuta.
    Jan Willem negociated the price. We paid 275RP at all against 500RP at start.
    We didn't took the same hostel.
    As per usual, the first thing I did, I put my bag and I enjoyed the sunset on the beach. Finally, a place with more local than tourist. It wasn't a pretty beach but more authentic.
    I walked on the smalls paths. the Indonesians were eating. I could ''observe'' their daily lives. They have little privacy. The houses face directly onto the street.
    The childreen and teennagers played at foot.
    The sunset was nice.
    Finally, I found the authenticity of Indonesian life that I had not been able to observe in Bali. ( Fuck Bali)
    When I went back at the hostel, I did the BBQ organized by the hostel. I met a new Dutch and two french. I was tired, them too. We went to bed not too late.
    Read more