Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Walking around Whistler

    July 3, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Mary had a wedding breakfast to go to today "pancakes and panties". So I could do breakfast at a street cafe by myself. Ruth gave me the Quiet American book to read on this holiday, I felt like a foreign correspondent watching the world go by. After breakfast, with Mary still enjoying fun with the friends and family of the bride, I went to a bar to watch the World Cup game between Belgium and Japan - very exciting game with Belgium coming out on top.

    While on my own I have booked our bus back to Vancouver airport - don't like leaving travel arrangements until the last minute - problem is we will have to be at reception by 7:50 am but with morning traffic, I can't risk being late for our 12:55 flight.

    Mary and I went for a walk around the village - it is surprisingly large because it is organised somewhat like Canberra, for example, all the car parks are in one place and the various villages, middle, top and lower are hidden behind tree lined streets. I wanted to go to the Fairmont Chateau - there will be others in Banff and Lake Louise and so I need to try this one al well. We stopped for cocktails and a salad - very nice and not to expensive.

    To end the day we had a get together with all the wedding guests, people have come from all over the world - tomorrow will be a special day. I tried Butter Curry Putine - with bean curd - nice, if you like chips and gravy.

    Tomorrow the wedding.

    Cheers
    Read more