Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 51

    Another cloudless day…Ambasmestas

    17 maja 2023, Hiszpania ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Today Amr beat me to this tiny town Ambasmestas. He left leisurely at about 9.20, or that’s when we parted, as I walked with him a short distance and then turned off to find my bus stop. It was only a 15.4 km distance, no huge ups and downs, and while a perfect day again, was mostly along the road winding from the Bierzo valley to the next one, along the valley floor.

    My bus wasn’t until 1.30 so I filled in the time reading, didn’t have to check out of our sweet little hotel till 12 fortunately, and when I left I found a sunny bench in the park…it still starts chilly at 6° but more and more rapidly warms up…I was hot by the time I got to the bus stop and had to shed a layer. Happy to find 3 other people also waiting for the bus, as the bus stop looked totally rundown and abandoned…I was right beside a roundabout along the “main” road - not a very busy one, as main as round here gets.

    About only 10 minutes after the due time, it actually came…a little minibus which already was almost full…so we all squeezed in…you could hardly fit down the aisle, and with backpacks etc almost impossible…but we managed. The poor elderly Dutch woman I had been chatting to had real difficulty as she had a large duffel bag as well. It cost €1.50, so not complaining!! When an American couple got off at the first stop the Dutch woman and I had to squeeze off again just to let them out…anyway, it actually stopped at all these little places along the way, and I found myself here quite quickly, arrived before 2pm and my app said Amr was 0 kms away, so I found I was beside the hotel, and he was having a snack in the bar, already checked in.

    One interesting thing - or really only interesting to us - is that the place we stayed at before is not shuttered or closed at all, I found it by accident today, on the next corner down, in fact it is the place on the corner where I took photo of Amr setting off. Happy about that!

    So not much else of interest to say today. We will have dinner here at the hotel’s dining room. All good, and tomorrow I hope to find a bus to take me to O’Cebreiro, which is the big climb for Amr (but fortunately not a long distance) and is where we meet Rachel and Richard…I think they have already started on their journey from Connecticut!
    Czytaj więcej