Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Podgorica

    July 20, 2023 in Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Last night wasn't as bad as the previous, 3am as opposed to 5am. But this day the option of a sleep in wasn't possible. I had a hangover that appeared to be accumulating from the day before and a checkout time of 10 am. I woke up, packed my stuff - forgetting my favourite and most expensive shirt 😞. Then I hung out in the common area while I prepared myself to get to the bus station. I said goodbye to some of the British guys I met and went on my way. Because this hostel was booked out for the next couple of days and the hostel in Zabljak was also booked, I had to find somewhere to go for a couple of days. I ended up picking Podgorica, the capital of Montenegro. I hadn't heard good things, but I was curious to see what it was all about. The bus trip there was unbelievable. The views were incredible over the coast. That being said, when I arrived, it was clear it was much more of a business city as opposed to anything else. There wasn't much history or culture that was prevalent, and it seemed built to be the economic centre of the country. Although, the food was cheap and the hostel was quiet when I arrived. I needed a couple of days to chill, so this was perfect. After I arrived, I sat around and chilled in the room until I was hungry and then headed around the city to see what was available to eat. This is when I saw the livelier side of the city. People were out in the city centre drinking and talking, everyone was very friendly and appeared to know everyone else. It was cool. After I got a pizza near my hostel, I went home for the night and got an early nights sleep.Read more