Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 17

    Podgorica Old Town

    21 juli 2023, Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    Today was the only full day I had in Podgorica, and there were only a few things I really wanted to do. As a result, I allowed myself to sleep in and began heading to the Millenium bridge shortly after a feed and a chat to the folks. The bridge wasn't overly exciting, but the river that ran through looked beautiful. I regretted not bringing a towel, and after some debate whether it was worth going back, I decided I may as well continue. The next stop was the 'Orthodox Temple of Christ's Resurrection'. This was much more impressive than the bridge. As you turn the corner, a tall and wide building appears in the middle of nothing, out in the distance. Although it's in the city centre, they have left a large space surrounding it for whatever reason, but it does add to the magnificence of the building. This church was interesting because it was designed very differently to the other churches in Europe. It was built by an array of smaller and larger cylindrical shapes. All combined to make one especially large cylinder. It's hard to explain it, really.

    The final thing I wanted to see was the old town. Given how interesting and cool the old towns of Kotor and Budva were, I had some pretty high expectations. The entrance was really cool. You crossed an old cobblestone bridge and walked through some ruins. But the old town itself resembled something closer to a ghetto rather than an old town. It was incredibly disappointing. I walked through it for about 5 minutes and then started looking for a way out. I didn't even take many pictures. Seeing everything in Podgorica took maybe 3 hours. They are all quite close together and not much to look at for too long. The church was by far the best. With everything done, I headed back to the hostel to chill for a bit.

    I had a craving for nachos after Jack had shared a photo of his from Spain. And so went on the look for a mexican restaurant. Given that it was a Friday night, it was even more lively than yesterday. People were out in force, and the atmosphere was awesome. There wasn't much to see in Podgorica, but there was still a lot of life in the city. After I eventually found a restaurant, I ordered the nachos and was pleasantly surprised about how good it was. It was huge, too. I barely got through it before being sent into a food coma in my bed.
    Läs mer