Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 70

    DAY SIXTY SEVEN X 1

    19. april, New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Brrrrrr what a cold morning 🥶 4 degrees outside and not much better in the motor home. My watch stopped overnight and my pens wouldn't write this morning. What a change from sunny warm Richmond. Just some bush walks today so I thought I'd share a pictorial report of the beautiful tracks we walked. I do want to explain about the black sooty mold on the trees though. It's quite weird to see and I thought it was killing the trees. Its caused by a scale insect which feeds on the inner bark and sends out a silver thread (honey dew) to excrete her waste. The mold obtains nourishment from this waste. Numerous birds and insect feed on this honey dew and so while it looks like the black mold is killing the trees it is actually doing good not harm. We bought some honey due honey earlier in our travels. I must say we have done numerous walks in the bush and never have we heard such a loud concentration of bird song. It's just beautiful here. 1-17 such an array of Fungi. 18 -19. Protected eel under the jetty. 20. We were warned about these pests but haven't seen or felt any.Læs mere