Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Catching up in Knysna

    November 28, 2016 in South Africa ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    After a few days out of commission, I'm writing a big catch up on everything that we've done so far. Other than the mystery illness that got both of us, the trip has been busy and full of fun!
    I never would have thought I'd have taken so many pictures of rocks, but they really are that beautiful! The view from the top of table mountain was out of this world, including seeing the spot where the Atlantic and Indian oceans meet.
    I was so happy that we got to see the penguins at Boulders Beach on Friday that I tried to convince myself I wasn't feeling as bad as I was (spoiler alert: it didn't help). Even feeling so terrible, it was awesome seeing the funny little penguins swimming, playing, and sunning themselves on the beach. I think I'd fit in nicely there...except for the smell 😷
    Saturday was spent recuperating by the pool, baking in the sun, and I will admit, I started to feel a lot better after a dip in the pool.
    Saturday evening was the first stop on our family tour, meeting Christiaan's Tannie (Aunt) Lennie, Oom (Uncle) Hermie, all the cousins and their kids for a braai. Considering I hadn't eaten in about 36 hours at that point, the food was amazing, and it was great to meet one part of the extended family. Sunday morning the tour continued with a drive through the amazing wine lands to Stellenbosch to meet more cousins (and their very cute dogs), and our final stop on the family tour was to see Tannie Christa, so it was great to finally meet everyone I've been hearing about for so long!
    The rest of Sunday was spent continuing our Cape Town > Port Elizabeth drive, with our overnight half-way stop at the Garden Route Game lodge something I'd really been looking forward to!
    Our safari rides Sunday evening and Monday morning were amazing, we saw elephants, lions, cheetah, rhino, giraffe, and tons of antelope.
    Continuing the long drive to Port Elizabeth, with a stop for lunch in Knysna, and now on to see Ma en Pa Ferreira!

    -Laura
    Read more