Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 171

    Perth mint

    March 14, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Our walking tour dropped us off at the royal mint, so I thought it would be rude not to go in.

    The jewelry they had on display was honestly stunning. They had everyhting shiny, I was loving it. The most expensive item was a $749,000 which is about £450,000. Insanely expensive for a ring. It had a massive pink jem on it and and the band was covered in multiple diamonds. Like loads. I went full magpie and just looked at the shiny things for far longer than necessary.

    Thankfully I was interrupted from my fixation by the tour I booked on starting.

    The tour focused on the history of gold nuggets that were found. Our guide showed us 3 replicas. One was of the first massive one found, then the largest ever found and also the only remaining intact nugget. They are far larger than I was expecting and really helped me understand the craze that came from prospecting.

    They then took us inside to the vaults. There was loads of information up about the different types of gold that can be found and more on the history of gold in Western Australia.

    We then moved into a demonstration area and one of the workers walked us through the process of melting and pouring a gold block. It was amazing to see and you were close enough to feel the heat. The guy doing the presentation was very good aswell. He knew what he was doing and how it all worked. Well worth the visit.

    Outside was a scale that you could measure yourself on. It told you how much money you would be worth if you were made of gold. So from here on out I am worth over 6million and will taken nothing less than that!

    On the way out it was, of course, exit via the gift shop and I once again became transfixed by the shiny. I was close to buying some things but in reality it was all very expensive and I am very broke and will probably brake it in my big bag.
    Read more