Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Melbourne

    September 17, 2011 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Again on Holidays we couldn't wait, this time my sister joined us so I was there on my way to the Airport with 3 girls, a man's dream I supposed, all were related to me though, my wife, my sister and my daughter.

    The flight was nice and easy, departing from Coolangatta airport this time we were arriving in Melbourne at 9am. We grabbed a Taxi to Abacus apartments in South Yarra, they had told me it was ok to dropped the bags at reception so we could go milling around town.

    The taxi trip took around 25 minutes and cost us $50, no too bad, within my calcs. Abacus apartments are located in a really quiet street off Toorak road, trams run on Toorak road, the train station is 3 blocks from there and there are restaurants, a convenient store, bakery, banks etc etc, great location.

    Great surprise our rooms were ready, excellent. No much unpacking, a short shower and we were on the road.

    Being close to 11am we chose to go to Chinatown in Little Bourke st, have some lunch and then head to Queen Victoria Market, the girls couldn't wait to be there.

    After looking at transportation options we opted for the Train, good choice, for the rest of our 3 days in Melbourne that was our preferred way to go around. It took us less than 10 minutes to get to Melbourne Central Station, on time to see the clock putting on a show announcing 12:00PM

    Little Bourke st was not far from there and dining options were ample. It took us half an hour to decide for a restaurant, there are just so many that is difficult to decide. The one we chose (I can't recall the name) was good, photos of Mao and other Chinese leaders all around, some German tourists sat next to us.

    From Chinatown we walked pass Melbourne central again and then to Queen Victoria Market. The place is quite big and they sell almost anything in there, nothing caught my attention though, the girls weren't that impressed either. it was good to see a couple of South American folks playing some Peruvian music.

    Back in Melbourne central we stopped at Coles to get something for Dinner, there were Pizzas 2 for $10 a bargain..............well the pizzas kept us crooked all night, they weren't that good at the end
    Read more