Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Lochs, a ladder and lots of rain

    September 29, 2016 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Time to move on again. Taking the advice given by Facebook friends I set out across the forth of firth bridge (or is it the Firth of Forth?) It wasn't as daunting as the Humber bridge, probably because I had done that bridge.

    I made my way to Kinross and was trying to find the ferry to Loch Leven Castle, the gps not being overly helpful. I found instead the Loch Leven Larder, one of those really nice places that sells all sorts of local food and products. I had breakfast there which included black sausage/pudding. While I don't hate it, I probably won't go out of my way to order it again. I've had it twice now, that's enough.

    I found the ferry and it took me across to the island where Loch Leven Castle is. I've now been on a loch.

    The ferry was a small boat and I was its only passenger. The people who had been on the island took my ferry back to the mainland so I had the island to myself. As I explored the island and the castle in which Mary Queen of Scots was incarcerated the "I have the island to myself" became "I'm all alone on the island".

    The castle is very small, as is the island. I went for a walk in the woods, it reminded me of walking in the rainforest in northern NSW/Queensland. I eventually realised it was because I could hear the rain on the leaves, not something I necessarily hear at home.

    The boat came back 45 minutes later and I headed off for Perth. There I explored the museum of The Black Watch.

    It was getting on for 4pm and I had more than two hours to drive so I set off for Fort William. The further I went the wetter it got. I had to pull over several times to let cars pass me as I was going too slow for them.

    I did stop at Pitcholry to see the fish ladder. It's there to assist the fish swimming upstream at the dam.

    I don't have much of an impression of Fort William yet as I couldn't see much between the twilight and the rain. I haven't even seen Ben Nevis!

    High winds are forecast for tomorrow so we will see what that brings.
    I suspect locals can easily tell who is a tourist around here. We are the ones carrying umbrellas. The locals just seem to where hoodies.

    Photos
    Loch Leven Castle
    "Mary's Spirit", the ferry
    Kinross House from the island
    Houses in Kinross
    Balhousie Castle, home of the Black Watch museum
    Fish ladder at Pitcholry
    Read more