Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Highland folk museum

    September 30, 2016 in Scotland ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    It was a wild and windy day today. Given most of what I want to do is geared towards the outdoors I headed to the Highland Folk Museum.

    It was about an hour away towards Inverness.
    It's a great place, free (although they do ask for a donation).

    I started with the farm area, the buildings are dressed for around the 1930s although sone of the buildings are older.
    I was excited to see one of the buildings dated back to the 1850s, about the time my great grandfather and his family left the area to come to Australia.

    It had been raining on and off all morning but started coming down really heavily so I went into Newtonmore for some lunch, the cafe at the museum only sold cold food and it was a day for hot food!

    There wasn't a lot open, I got a very definite "end of season" feel to the town but I found a lovely little teashop.
    I had cullen skink - smoked fish and potato soup. It was very rich and filling but the serve was thankfully small.

    Speaking of soup, what is it with Scots and lentil soup? It's been on nearly all the menus the last couple of days.

    I went back to the museum and explored the 1700s township. There was a peat fire burning in the biggest house.
    It did highlight what a hard life it must have been.

    It was only 4pm so I decided to return via Inverness and Loch Ness. It was a nice drive, I stopped off in Fort Augustus for tea and had haggis, neeps and oatcakes (no tatties though). I liked the haggis, it is nicer than black pudding.

    Photos
    1850s farmhouse
    Inside a 1700s house with a peat fire
    On the walk to the 1700s township I found animal carvings
    1700s grand house
    Loch Ness
    Nessie
    Read more