Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Balandra #2: Next Level Leftovers

    February 20, 2020 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    February 20th. Next level leftovers for the Balandra crew.

    As celebrations continued for yet another day, it was time to feed the crew once more. We had leftovers of everything, and then I also roasted some poblano peppers which I stuffed with Asadero cheese and my first attempt at beef Adobada- which was kinda hard having never properly read how to make it. I seared some dried ancho and guajillo chillies- both quite fruity in their dried state. To that, added some red wine vinegar, a bunch of garlic, some water and then into the blitzer for the completion of the marinade. 24hrs in the fridge, and then I cooked it off in a low oven, diced it and then fried it to get some colour. It wasn't like I've had in restaurants, so will need some work, but it was good in its own right.

    I also threw together a red salsa. My guess was that it involved cooked tomatoes and dried ancho chillies. Boosted in confidence from the results of cooking the green tomato salsa, I felt happy about only half roasting red tomatoes. I added anchos, some garlic, red wine vinegar, lime juice, sugar. Blitzed. Done. I like that most Mexican food I've been making so far is not very labour intensive- something I'm sure I'll feel bless about as the weather gets hotter and more humid as we head south.

    The spread went down really well with the group again. There really is nothing better than kickass leftovers. Photos to follow.
    Read more