Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Canggu

    October 26, 2023 in Indonesia โ‹… โ˜€๏ธ 30 ยฐC

    2 days ago, I took a taxi ๐Ÿš• to Canggu approximately 1,5 hours south of Ubud. It was the first time I could not split the cost with other travelers anymore. And in addition Canggu is even more touristy and expensive than Ubud. So, my average daily costs are sky rocketing ๐Ÿš€ at the moment. Thank goodness, it is the end of the month. So, my salary is due soon ๐Ÿ˜…
    At least for accommodation I wanted to save some money. ๐Ÿ’ฐ So, I booked 2 nights in a deluxe 4-bed dorm in a hostel. To my surprise it was the same place where Paula and Klara were staying. Something was different about this hostel though. In comparison to all the other places I have been before, this seemed to be so much more professional. For checkin I had to fill out a form (see the photo) and agree to a lot of rules that made sense but I have never seen them spelled out like this. ๐Ÿ˜‚
    However, the rooms are quite spacious and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever seen in a 4-bed dorm of a hostel. ๐Ÿ‘After checking in, I took a shower and „optimized“ my looks as far as I could (mainly shaving ๐Ÿช’ my beard). ๐Ÿ˜… As expected and in every touristy place close to the beach (e. g. think of Rio de Janeiro), people seemed do be much more superficial and focused on their outer values instead of their inner ones. I wanted to fit in at least a little bit ๐Ÿ˜Š
    Then I joined Paula and Klara at the billiard table to share some stories of the past few days with them.

    The next morning we awkwardly had to say goodbye ๐Ÿ‘‹ to each other again within 72 hours. I tried to make it quick since I actually don’t like to saying goodbye too much. But I guess, this is something I need to get used to in the coming months. Paula and Klara had a long journey back home (or to other countries) in front of them. I continued to stay for one more night and used the time to do many things I neglected in the past due to missing time:
    * do laundry ๐Ÿงบ
    * going to the hair dresser ๐Ÿ’‡ (that was already overdue for at least a week)
    * book my last night in Indonesia in a Jakarta Airport Hotel ๐Ÿจ
    * book a flight โœˆ๏ธ from Banyuwangi (on the east coast of Java) to Jakarta Airport; due to multiple technical issues with the WiFi and the website this 15 min task took me almost an hour
    * financials / stock market ๐Ÿ“ˆ


    With that, I was almost busy for the whole day. ๐Ÿ˜‚ But I also walked around Canggu and its beaches. In the conversation I just had with the driver of my taxi ๐Ÿš• to Lovina (my next destination), we summarized it quite nicely: Canggu is almost entirely made up of beach clubs, surf schools & shops ๐Ÿ˜…
    After my healthy 2-3 hour walk in the middle of the day, I arrived back at my hostel and went straight to the pool. ๐Ÿ˜Ž
    I met some people there in the hostel - many Germans but also Irish and British. They were just here for partying and surfing. ๐Ÿ„‍โ™€๏ธ So it was no surprise that the conversations with them were not very deep. But that’s OK. Not everyone can be like Rico, Paula and Klara ๐Ÿฅฒ๐Ÿ˜Š
    Paula (who was already in Canggu) had even warned me about it but I wanted to see the place for myself. So, I don’t regret coming to Canggu. Kuta (on Lombok) however was a much nicer because more diverse and relaxed surf spot, in my view.

    Now I am on my way to Lovina in the north of Bali. It’s a 2-3 hour drive but I am going there to see some dolphins ๐Ÿฌ and maybe one more waterfall. My plan is to relax there a bit and to have some alone time.
    Read more