Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 98

    100 smiles per hour with Quico & Vita

    June 16, 2019 in Myanmar ⋅ 🌧 26 °C

    Quico & Vita : not to be mistaken for "Chico & Rita", an animation movie with an incredible soundtrack (by the cuban piano-player Bebo Valdes) !
    No, Quico is a spanish guy, Vita his bike. I have been hearing from them since the beginning of my trip in Nepal ! "Have you met the Spanish guy with his very tall bike?". Eventually, it will be thanks to Angel Gabriel (remember? the cyclist that rode with me in Silchar, India) that we "met", at least virtually. Gariel rode with him and put us in touch.

    Quico & Vita are riding a few weeks behind me. Now that I am in Chiang Mai, Thailand, they are about to cross the border between Myanmar and Thailand.
    What stroke me when chatting with Quico is to notice how close our riding experiences have been, especially in India : being surrounded by people when you camp (and try to rest), feeling tired of the never-ceasing attention...
    But even though I don't arouse as much interest as him (I ride a normal bike whereas he rides a strange tall bike !), I totally share his experience - and joy- of being rewarded by dozens of smiles along the way... The name of his blog is "at 100 smiles per hour". How true this is ! I don't mention it enough in my posts, but clearly, people's smiles and kindness are what make this trip so enjoyable and the "fuel" for keeping on riding...

    With his permission, I share some of his pictures : first so that you can have a look at his amazing bicycle, second to see if you can notice common features between our trips !! :)
    And maybe tall Vita and fat Hathi will have a chance to meet some day...

    Quico's blog : https://a100sonrisasporhora.com
    Read more