Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 167

    Peaceful shortcut via Cat Ba island

    August 24, 2019 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    My first day on the island was all set up : kayaking and rock-climbing with a travel agency, following the advice of a American couple I had met during the meditation in Thailand.

    So 5 minutes after I arrive by ferry, I embark on another boat with a bunch of joyful tourists. In the kayak, I pair with a Finnish guy, who is friend with many other paddlers. We have water battles, bumping-kayak games and jump in the blue/green-colored water... It is the first time in this trip that I can swim in the ocean !

    The rock-climbing part is with a smaller group of French people. For some, it is their first climbing experience, while one girl, Camille, is already experienced. Karst (limestone) is great for climbing, the lines are well-equipped and our "instructors" professional. It feels great to climb again after such a long time, even though I can feel the lack of practice and... a few extra pounds in my body.

    The following day, we meet again with Manon and Camille to explore the island. We visit a few caves, hike to the summit and share a meal together. Good times. I then continue riding to the north to take a boat to Halong City, instead of Haiphong. That way, I "save" 55 km of riding along the coast and I leave the island from another side.

    Cat Ba Island was a perfect spot to enjoy the Halong Bay sceneries and meet other travelers. At my hostel/ homestay, I bumped into a guy I had met in Hanoi and met several tourists from "new" countries : Turkey and Argentina. It changes from the common Euro-american tourist. 😉
    Read more