Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 232

    Last korean days in Busan

    October 28, 2019 in South Korea ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    In the city of Busan, sometimes called the "San Francisco of South Korea", I... :
    - Swam in the ocean with a Tschech guy,
    - Visited beautiful shrines overlooking the sea,
    - Watched a rugby game in a bar and partied (a bit too much) with some Halloween-dressed people and... the Australian Navy,
    - Climbed a mountain with a Korean guy while listening to his heartbreaking love stories (his French girlfriend left him for a Japanese guy ! Nothing worse for a Korean I guess...)
    - Managed to break 18 lightbulbs in 2 seconds (this is what happens when you try to hang out a tent on an electric wire...😯).
    - Got a haircut,
    - Met again with David for a last meal together,
    - Had a nice tea break in a traditional teahouse,
    - Went again to a jjimjilbang,
    - Cycled everywhere through the city and enjoyed its numerous cycling lanes, but also lost my way on some hiking trails,
    - Did not taste as much seafood as I should have (there were so many nice dishes I wanted to have again before leaving !)
    - Walked across the "art district" of Gamcheon, and in the beautiful forest park above it
    - etc, etc...

    To sum it up, I tried to make the best of these last few days to experience again all that I had enjoyed during this trip in Korea. And I told myself that my ideal city would probably look a bit like Busan : the ocean but also mountains and hills at reach, tasty food, a lively city life, cheap public baths !
    Like Seoul, Busan was very spreadout. But despite its large size and modernity, it kept a laid-back atmosphere typical of the smaller fishing villages we came accross during the entire journey.
    Goodbye Busan and Korea ! I hope to see you again some day. By the meantime, I will definitely try out some Korean restaurants in Paris to find again the flavours I enjoyed here.

    PS : It won't teach you much about Busan nor Korea, but I do recommend the excellent zombie movie "Last train for Busan".
    Read more