Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Some impressions of the last few days

    July 22, 2018 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    So after Quito I planned to take the train from Riobamba to Cuenca. Well, I didn't plan really. So when I arrived in Riobamba I had to find out, that the train doesn't go from one City to another but is always just a little trip from and back to the city. And the Riobamba one (hielo something) didn't interest me. I wanted to see the Devil's Nose - supposedly an engineers masterpiece. So I had to go to Alausí. But when I finally arrived on Monday I was told, that the train doesn't start on Mondays. A quite lonely and boring day in Alausí followed. Finally, on Tuesday I took the train. It was full of tourists, everyone was running from left to right to get the best pictures, some indigenous people danced for the tourists, the train ride wasn't really exiting. But the view was nice. But not really worth 3 days diversion and 30$ .
    Well then I hitchhiked to Cuenca - thanks to Sandro!

    Cuenca had been described to me as Mediterranean and super beautiful. Well I got a bad case of man flu, it's cold and nothing goes on past 8pm. Later I found out that there is the calle larga where there are maaany bars and clubs. But at the beginning I was quite disappointed. Now after a week I like Cuenca quite a lot. It's not as cheep as Quito but somehow calmer and quieter (tranquilo!). The river is fantastic and the closebye steam baths (baños) we're relaxing. I stay at Pepe's house - a reaaally calm hostel. All that was good to recover and rest the broken toe.

    Also Spanish lessons are alright. Starting with indefinido but I can't really do present tense yet. Well I'm getting along.
    Oh and there is this "Austrian coffee" with pictures of famous German/Austrian artists and Goethe :)

    *Und ich weiß nicht warum ich das alles auf Englisch gemacht habe. Träume in letzter Zeit auch wieder auf Englisch..
    Read more