Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 435

    Our first caravan park for 3 weeks

    June 26, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    A bottle shop nearby. That is a really good thing. Let’s just dwell on that for a moment. It’s less than 5k away, it is open beyond a 2pm > 6pm window. Don’t get too giddy while we have a little reality check: I still have to provide my Drivers license to make a purchase (think about that for a moment). For now I don’t have to prove where I will stay tonight to consume my purchases, and happily there was no requirement for the states finest (Police Force) to administer my purchase here in WA. Can you believe the State Police spend part of their shifts overseeing the antics at bottle shops - every day.

    Change of tack: We are in Tom Price. It is a really big caravan park. We have the dirtiest van. Is it a shaming thing - that we were were offered the $10 wash your caravan service? I think we will have the dirtiest caravan at our next port of call too, where they actually charge for drinking water. $10 for 20 litres. What do you reckon? Just wait until we post photos from Coral Bay - yes it is as beautiful as it sounds. It’s just dry.

    There are a lot of Galas here.

    While we are in the highest town in WA, Tom Price at 747m, let’s dash up Mount Nameless (1128m), for great views of the Mine and the town that was built in 1960.
    Read more