Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Killing time in Picton

    November 24, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Our ferry from the South island was delayed because of the earthquake damage. We arrived pretty early in any case, as our campsite was a close drive to Picton. We explored our options from the the i-Site, after looking at the aquarium. We opted for a walk along the sound, booked our flights to New Plymouth on a bench on the trial. This after researching many options on multiple airlines. I focused with my NYC trick to book singles with two different airlines. (Jetstar and Air Nz in this case), this was cheaper than renting a car or taking a longggg bus trip.

    We called bluebird & the ferry was delayed for another hour. We went for lunch at Le Café with stunning harbour views, Roedolf tried whitebait (tiny little fishies) a NZ speciality, and I picked the fresh green Marlborough mussels. We walked around town and got a coconut slice and carrot cake from the award winning Picton Village Bakkerij.

    Made our way to the ferry. After queueing for a quite a while I decided to make my way to the terminal for a SECOND time to get a pamphlet of Wellington. The camper vans started driving onto the ferry as I had my back towards it, once I realized, I sprinted to make it, but the marshall told me I should rather get on the bus with the walk on ferry passengers. Obviously Roedolf was a stress ball... I had my phone so messaged him everything was fine, and I have a new boarding pass . He is (was not) impressed with me at all. I had my phone, my purse, my trainers to sprint and my remarkable brain that can make plans. My experience was that everything is in control and I was laughing.

    Clearly the opposite of Roedolf's experience. We rendez-vous on board the ferry with some comfy seats and free wifi. Not exactly the welcome I expected 😂I thought it was hilarious, him not so much.

    An eventful day in the beautiful little town of Picton. Happy I made it onto the ferry😛.

    {Issy}
    Read more