Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Picton to Wellington Ferry

    November 24, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    The trip on the ferry ⛴ was an experience to say the least.

    It started off with a delay of 2 hours then a 30 plus minute wait to drive on the ferry after check in. Just before we started boarding Isabel decided it would be a good idea to leave the van and disappear. The marshals told me to drive on or stay and that Isabel had to make her own way on to the Ferry by buying a new boarding pass if she does not have hers. Both our boarding passes was on the dashboard so I knew she did not have one, also we already packed backpacks to carry on to the ferry and hers was in the car with presumably her wallet and ID. To make matters worst I only have Isabel's whatsapp number which only helps if shes on wifi (cause she already used all her pay as you go data), note to self when ever we buy pay as you go sim cards save each others numbers before you do anything else.
    Long story short I drove onto this massive ferry and parked as close to other campers and lorries as anyone would feel comfortable with. Not knowing what she will do. When I finished parking the van I got whatsapp's from her saying she's fine and she will meet me onboard.
    She thinks its a big joke but for a good 10 minutes I was really worried and she does not seem to know why. Anyway moving on swiftly...

    The ferry boasts with free wifi onboard, and I thought this would be a great time to do some last minute tax filings for clients to kill the 5 hours we had on the ferry. The only thing I could say was the wifi was free alright, but all it really got you was wifi bars on your device but zero connection to anything. In the limited occasions that it did connect, it took ages to load and then would not save anything on the SARS e-file website. I basically completed a tax return twice from scratch and gave up after that, very frustrated as I know I only had tomorrow, to find a wifi spot to submit this return before the filing deadline.

    I never want to have the ferry ride again!

    So don't be mislead travel aren't always sunshine and amazing experiences, sometimes it's extremely frustrating as you just don't have complete control of things you would like to be able to control.

    {Roedolf}
    Read more