Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Back in the S.D.

    February 24 in Dominican Republic ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    A reversal of last week's trip (guagua, bus, taxi) takes me back to a few days in the capital. This time I'm right in the heart of things, in a classy hotel on Parque Colon and a prime view from the roof terrace. At first I hope it won't be too many times that he plays "My Way" and "La Vie on Rose" on the saxophone, but after a couple of days I get to like him. Some sort of dancing display usually takes place in the afternoons. The quiet backstreets show an unhurried pace of life, even if the bronze sleeper takes it to the extreme.

    Indeed, music is never far away. It's good to know that as well as the local styles, salsa is popular---maybe from Cuba or Puerto Rico. I follow the sounds blasting from a neighbourhood bar, and then a colmado (corner shop). The music is recorded but they like to juice it up with their own percussion.
    Read more