Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13 - Aljucén - 17 km

    October 3, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Highlights ….
    Once out of Mérida the way was not very well marked for a few km. But I met up with Max of a few days ago and followed him to the green bike path where he seemingly zoomed ahead. There was another dirt turn off about 9-10 Km out that was not marked but I realised I had gone past when all of a sudden the sun was in the wrong place. I have an online map that I can check so I got back on track very quickly.
    Walked 17 km (with pack) and am not wrecked - might even be ready for the hills in the final stages of this Camino -which I think I can see in the far far distance.
    An easy day of gently undulating lightly forested land, and grapes being harvested .
    There is a Roman built Lake Proserpina about 4 km out of Mérida that sent water to the Milagro Aqueduct in Mérida all those centuries ago. I walked across the 2000 year old dam wall. Amazing construction.
    A bit later cows that look like bulls and rams that look ewes. I never knew that rams could have such huge low slung balls.
    Finally arriving at the cutest town of Aljucén with lots of Camino signage and a great old church dedicated to St Andrew. The only down side was that the church was built to celebrate the expulsion of the Moors. ☹️
    Tomorrow I walk 19 km.
    Buen Camino
    PS just worked out I am averaging 15 km per day which includes the 56 km by bus and taxi. Not too bad for an old codger.
    Read more