Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day 14 - Alcuéscar 19.1 km

    October 4, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Very hot very tough day - so thankful for my umbrella as the last 7 km were without shade and the temperature got to the low 30’s.
    I met a man from Brittany, Serge, and I walked with him at the end. It made it much easier. And then he paid for lunch. Too kind.
    This is Serge’s second time on this Camino. Last time he did it in spring. He showed me some photos and it was so green and full of flowers - and full of pilgrims. Very different from Autumn.
    We are staying at Casa de Acogida de los Esclavos de María y de los Pobres. It is actually a hospital ‘for people who require special care’ run by a religious order. They also provide accommodation for pilgrims by donation. It is beautifully calm and peaceful and the hospitalaro is very kind and helpful.
    Because there are not so many pilgrims at this time of year I have had a room / dorm to myself quite a few times. A blessing of this autumn Camino.
    And Fiesta continues. Apparently 4 October is a religious celebration in the Catholic tradition. So there is a fun fair here tonight. With all the lights and rides and food. I can hear the music and noise from my bed. I was remembering how exciting the Show was when I was young and it is fun watching the children and young people enjoying the excitement of it all.
    But it feels so peaceful here - I am sure as soon as I shut my window I will easily drift off to sleep regardless of the noise. Oh and the church bell just above me goes off every 15 minutes. Haha. I am surprised that none of this seems to bother me. Right now I feel a happiness within. Maybe the Camino is doing its work on me.
    PS Just discovered the window is double glazed and sound proof - this truely is a blessed place.
    Read more