Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 19 - Galisteo - 19.1 km

    October 9, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    How quickly landscape and weather can change.
    While we are still in the autonomous region of Extremadura we have definitely climbed into the cooler and more higher country.
    There has been a cool wind blowing - quite strongly at times - and after a few hours through trees and over hills, the landscape transformed into green pastures with grazing sheep and cattle. Again I sort of missed those incredibly hot plains further south. I am completely amused by this longing for the difficult first few weeks.
    We were walking on another Roman road today. Over the last few days I noticed lots of quartz rock in the road beds but now I believe that what we are seeing is the base of the original Roman roads. Sort of exciting and inspiring.
    I left in the cool dark this morning (6.15 am) with the way lit by a nearly full moon and Miguel’s head lamp. Very beautiful. I started to wish the sun would rise, but remembering my lessons on the hot plains I reminded myself to enjoy the dark and be fully present because the sun would eventually rise and the dark would be gone.
    When I started this Camino I didn’t realise that sunrise is not till 8.00 or 8.30 am and that you really need to leave in the dark to get the cooler part of the day - and I am usually awake around 5-6 am anyway. So I will need to buy a headlamp in Salamanca. I can use my phone torch but it’s not so good if I am walking in the dark for a couple of hours.
    I am staying in the walled town of Galisteo. This is more like the Spain I know from previous Caminos. I am looking forward to exploring this town after I check in to the Albergue.
    The Albergue is fabulous. Mainly single beds for 8 people and I might be the only one here today. Large lounge area and modern bathroom.
    The accomodation is much improved since Camino Frances in 2007 when I remember many rickety bunk beds and cold showers.

    Buen Camino

    (20 km in 6 hours)
    Read more