Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Sealy Tarns Viewpoint

    January 3, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    This was for sure the craziest decision today. 🙈😂

    I can say, after this one I had no energy left anymore😅😂

    The start was nice and easy over a nice track than I had to turn left and the track started to slowly go up the hill. At that point, I still didn’t realize which „hill“ I was supposed to walk up 🙈
    I met a German couple and they said: Have fun and good luck! And I was asking then it is going to really tough to walk the track. And the woman just said: No not at all, it’s only 600m high different and a little bit over 2000 steps!! So don’t worry, it’s going easy, or not 😂😂

    Ups, that’s gonna be interesting 🙈
    Well as I was on my way already I said, I give it a try, I can always turn around. But to be honest, I still didn’t really realize, what I was going to do.

    I noticed it shortly after when the steps started. From now on, it was like this all the way up to the lookout of Sealy Tarn! 😳

    I can’t describe how it was, small steps, big steps, steep ones, really steep once. After a while I hated steps... And the longer it took me the worst it got.
    I don’t know how many times I had to Stopp, it was many, many times. Many people were passing me, but I didn’t care. I just wanted to do it, no matter how long it’s going to take.
    The higher up I got the view over the area was getting better and better. It keeps you going, for a while.
    After over 1 hour I got to so exhausted that I was really thinking that I can’t make it and wanted to give up. But the people that came down and passed me at that point were pushing and motivating me to keep on going and told me, that it’s not so far anymore and that I can do it!
    I was too exhausted to thank them for that, I really needed that to get me up to the lookout! And, as always, it was so worth it to go all the way up!
    Still perfect weather and an incredible view!
    Well, the wind was really cold, not surprising as I was quite closed no to the glaciers and up on 1250m!

    I stayed only 10 min up there to relax and eat something.
    I could keep on going for another 400m up to the Mueller Hut but I was too tired for that and I also saw, that the clouds were starting to really push over the mountains and I didn’t want to get stuck somewhere up here in bad weather.
    So I started to walk down. Also not so easy and a really tough job for the legs.
    I was back in my car after 2 hours and 40 minutes. I couldn’t believe it. It took me 1 hour and 35 min to walk up! It felt like 5 hours 🙈😂

    My legs were shaking when I stopped beside my car and I was so tired, that I didn’t want to move anymore at all.
    Not even one hour after I came back to my car, the wind was freshening up and it got really, really nasty outside. It got really cold and the clouds were getting more and more and darker.
    So my decision to go back to the car was definitely the right one!

    I spent the rest of the evening with a girl from Germany talking about our experiences here in New Zealand.
    There was no way to cook something outside on the gas cooker, so dinner was a cucumber salad, a cooked egg I still had and some pieces of bread.
    I went to bed around 10 pm, much later then expected but we talked so long and much. She wants to get up at 2.30 in the night to watch the stars, so I said, I will try as well to get up and watch them with her, as they are supposed to be so beautiful out here. Good that the weather got better again after 9 pm and the clouds were starting to disappear again.

    To make it short, I was not standing up, it got so cold overnight here, freezing cold and I could not find enough motivation to get out of my bed 🙈
    Read more