Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    Tangoio Walkway

    February 1, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    It was already or maybe I most say still pretty warm in the morning. I had my breakfast in the shadow as sitting outside in the sun is impossible!

    I left around 10 am and was just hoping that the weather forecast for today is right and it's not getting hotter than 30 degrees 🤞🏼😅

    The first stop for me on the way to Gisborne was at the Tongoio Walkway.

    Here are two waterfalls within a few minutes of walking. The first one was very easy to reach and a famous swimming spot.

    For the second one, I need to climb up a quite steep path for around 15-20 minutes to come to the lookout. A couple recommended walking to the redwood forest, only 30 minutes from the lookout so I did that. It was a really nice walk and the forest was beautiful. A lot of big and old trees and so many birds and also goats around!
    Yes, goats! I was also surprised when there was suddenly a goat standing in front of me 😂😉

    They are super scared and I was just seeing them max for one second until they were gone again in the bushes.

    It started to get really warm now so I went back to the car to keep on going.

    There I met another couple, from Rotorua and they have me some nice tips, where to go and what to do around here!
    Read more