Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 75

    Stoppover in Sydney

    February 13, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    After a horrible night, I don’t know as much I was awake and asleep but it’s not feeling like I have been sleeping much, and a lot of pain on my back I got up at 4.20 am.
    Super tired, super unmotivated.
    I had a quick breakfast as I had my sandwiches left from yesterday and a cup of tea before it was time to leave the house and get out to the road to meet my Uber.
    The driver arrived on time, 5 am and it was just 12 minutes to the airport from here. So I checked in, went through the security check and was done with all at 5.35 am already.
    That’s the only thing that is nice with an early morning flight.
    Tired as I was I searched for a calm place to sit and rest a bit.
    Boarding started at 6.50 and at 7.15 we were leaving the gate, ready for take-off.
    It’s about 3 1/2 hours to Sydney from Auckland. The flight was quite bumpy.
    But I was surprised that we all got a nice breakfast, as it’s just such a short flight, I was not expecting to get more than a cup of tea, to be honest. So that was really nice! I like Virgin Australia! 😊
    The weather in Sydney is not so good. Super cloudy and raining here and there. But I know, they are very happy here about the rain and I can understand it!
    One hour after landing I had cleared customs and biosecurity. Answering a lot of questions but they didn’t want to check my bag.
    After that, I had to walk to the Virgin Australia Transit Area. On the way I picked up a new Simcard already and fixed the phone, so now I am ready for Australia.

    Then I went to drop off my bag, got my boarding pass and had to wait around 10-15 min for the coach to arrive and then drive from the international airport to the domestic airport.
    Here I could go straight to the security check. I noticed that I am always choosing the line that takes the longest time today... Funny, at least I have more than enough time.
    Clearing the security check I went to find something to eat. It’s 3 hours left until the departure to Perth.
    I got a nice baguette and tried to find a place where I could lay down for a while, not so easy, unfortunately...
    What I also noticed, a lot of people here are wearing face masks. In New Zealand it was not like this, you always see some Chinese people with them on, but that’s nothing special, but here around 30% of all people, passengers, and staff are wearing them.

    The rest of the time I tried to stay awake.
    We were running 30 min late and left Sydney at 2.25 instead of 1.55 pm.
    Read more