Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 76

    Hyde Park and Lake Monger

    February 14, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    I woke up around 7 am. I slept pretty well. Heard later from the other girls, that some people have been quite noisy until 2 o'clock at night and they could not fall asleep because of them. I missed that totally, probably because I used ear probs straight away because of the air conditioning.

    At 7 am it was totally quiet in the hostel. Most people seem to sleep longer in the morning. I tried to sleep a little bit more but it was not working so well. So, in the end, I got up around 8.30 to go to the bathroom and check out the breakfast.
    There are tea and coffee and a lot of different toast for free, including jams, peanut butter, and Nutella.
    I met a girl from France that just arrived this morning and we talked a little during breakfast.
    Around 9.30 am I saw that the girls from my room were also awake now and having breakfast. But for me, it was then time to pack up my stuff, take off the sheets for my bed and check out around 10 am.
    Miri the girl from Germany decided to spend the day with me. So we walked to my car, I dropped my bag and then went to Hyde Park to sit down in the shadow and check out what we could do or where we could go.
    It's super hot today, already 35 degrees now and it should get up to 40 degrees today 😳🥵

    As it was so hot we decided to drive to Lake Monger instead of walking.
    Nice lake with a lot of birds, many shags, ducks and to our big surprise a lot of pelicans as well!
    We found a place in the shadow under a tree and just sat there watching the birds, talking a bit and sweat like hell. It's just getting hotter and hotter with every hour.

    As we got hungry around lunchtime we went to a supermarket nearby to by something to eat and then drove to Kings Park to eat there, of course, in the shadow!
    We were pretty exhausted from the heat so we went back to Hyde Park to watch the cockatoos a little bit. But even they had a quiet time then so we decided it would be nice to get inside an air-conditioned room. I dropped her off at the Shiralee Hostel and went then to my hostel where I will stay one night.
    I checked in and got a 4 bedroom on my own. That was nice! The guy said, he doesn't think someone more will be coming today. So that's nice.

    I laid down for a while and had a little nap. I got quite a headache during the evening and took it super calm. This hostel is much quieter than the last one I had.
    At 9 pm two girls from Japan checked in to my room, super friendly!
    I must have been falling asleep around 10 o'clock or so.
    Didn't hear them go to bed at all.
    At midnight one more girl was coming and sleeping in the last empty bed. I just woke up when she arrived but was falling asleep pretty fast again.
    I really needed the sleep I can say. Good that the mattress here is better than the last one I had.
    Read more