Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    16 Moose, 5 Bear, 1 Fox and Huh?!

    June 28, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 55 °F

    (Please read post "Not Always Green Garden First!!) Green Garden continued....As I neared the coast I could hear the waves and the gulls and the screech of an eagle. I knew I was close and as the trees parted, I was rewarded with the view in photo one. The trail took me along the coast, past trees doing the "gangsta lean" away from the wind, toward two tent platforms for those who wanted to sleep out here(yes, please!). That would have been fun if I had timed it right. I'm always kind of scanning for animal signs on a trail. A moose print in the mud or a gnawed on branch or a poop or two. The trail had been pretty devoid of that so far. But then, what is that? A hunk of fur caught on a twig. Looks kinda fuzzy. Bear-like? No. Fox-like, maybe. And then, up ahead, I saw a tiny little face peeking out, ahem, dare I say "sheepishly", from beneath a pine bough. What the heck are they doing here? As I got close, with the aforementioned tell-tale poops becoming more prevalent, I saw that the one little face was attached to a whole flock of random grazers. By the length of their wool it looked like they had been out wandering for awhile. Now I know why the Garden is Green. Sheep poo will do that!
    As I drove away from my walk I came to a little town of Woody point and a wool artists shop. I stopped, just to complete the circle. I had to share her sign because of the distance marker at the top of the sign. Cute, right?
    Read more