Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Shiver Me Timbers!

    June 28, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    "Sometimes I think that they let a group of Grade 6-ers name the towns in Newfoundland". That's a quote from a book I'm reading. For evidence, I present exhibit A (and B,C,D...) Heart's Content. Heart's Desire. Heart's Ease. Tickle Harbour. Happy Adventure. Come By Chance. Brunette. Cupids. Dildo. Goobies. A family favorite is sure to be "Nicky's Nose Cove"! And my personal, recent favorite, Blow Me Down. Blow Me Down is at the end of a peninsula on the opposite side of Bonne Bay(Gros Morne is the other side). This felt like a little secret place. Just as beautiful as driving toward Green Gardens but through little towns. The difference, was the wind. I'm realizing that this is a windy province. It's been blowy most of my time here. (Yippee for no bugs!). But this peninsula took it to a whole different level. It was "two hands on the wheel" kind of driving with the wind buffeting the vehicle. It sounded a little like going through a car wash.
    At the end of the drive, despite the less than perfect weather, I could still see the beauty. Water with rolling hills to my right and steep mountains with waterfalls to my left. It looked reminiscent of the pacific northwest. I found the Blow Me Down Provincial Park without a problem. I checked in, set up camp and snuggled in for the night. I woke up and noticed that the cloud cover was high. A little dry window in a day that was predicted to be on and off showers. I decided to go for a walk before the weather changed its' mind. And photo three is what I found. A beautiful little beach. The sneaky thing was how to get there. There was this special little staircase called the "Governor's Staircase" built into the rock formation that hung over the beach. It lead down to a little sea cave. It would have been so fun to have been part of planning this. Those involved must have been considered nuts!
    Read more