Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Puerto Lopez and Back Again

    August 28, 2022 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    My guess is that I’m posting way too frequently for everyone besides my mom and others who were at my bar mitzvah 938373 years ago. I’m going to try to create a new post for each town we visit so as to record it all for Talia since she may not remember this adventure. My hope is to turn this into a little book for her. If the Dean happens to read this, please consider whether said book will count as a publication during my sabbatical.

    Anyway, back to recording our adventure. On Saturday, we ventured to Puerto Lopez, stopping at a roadside bakery and viewing towns even smaller than Olon along the way. We jumped out of the taxi for a photo at Los Piqueros overlook and then had a seafood lunch in Puerto Lopez. After lunch, we went to a beach in a nearby national park (Los Frailes beach).

    On Sunday it was finally sunny and we hit the beach in Olon (have I mentioned that it’s cloudy season here?!). Talia body boarded with a new friend for hours and Kyla and I had our best meal yet as well as drinks on the beach…only to be taken out of commission by Ecuadorian stomach insanity. We have sort of recovered.

    During the times that I wasn’t on the floor groaning and clenching my stomach today, Talia and I continued our explorations. We came across some fishermen who pulled fish out of the ocean and loaded up their bike-cart to ride up and down the beach yelling “pescado!” There’s also a guy on a motorcycle who does the same thing every morning—like an ice cream truck but with fish.
    Read more