Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Atlantic Crossing … Day 1

    October 27, 2022, North Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    I am sitting in my favorite place on the ship. Our veranda. It’s pitch dark … the stars twinkling in the sky. The temperature is a cozy 73F. The motion of the ocean has increased since earlier today. Dead rollers … but at times big enough to make the ship dance. The weather was overall good … went through a squall this morning and was rewarded with a rainbow.

    Today we began to use our free minutes of internet — an Elite+ perk. I set up my account at breakfast and logged in to check emails and social media. Not much in either case. My usage today was all of about 25 minutes, so the 240 minutes should last for the duration of what remains of the cruise … easily.

    This first day of the crossing was a quiet one. I didn’t do much more than sit on the veranda … writing at times … reading at other times. Mui ventured out to Chef Halim’s cooking demo at 11:00a … how to cook the best steak. When we get home, I expect him to put into practice what he learned today.

    Since it was “chic night,” we got gussied up a bit and went to the dining room around 5:30p so we could get to the 7:00p show. On special nights like this one, Celebrity puts on a production-style show. This one was entitled “Cosmopolitan.” We should have just skipped it. Far from living up to the hype of “… giving us an olympic postcard adventure to enlighten the senses …” it fell flat on its face IMHO. The dancing was more like strutting on stage … the vocalists, well they were less than impressive. I walked out after the first three acts … Mui joined me in the cabin about 10 minutes later..

    But you know, I don’t care that the show was an “olympic fail.” I’d rather be on the veranda anyway. And now that I have finished today’s story, I’m going to read and enjoy the sounds of the ocean around me.

    Distance Remaining to Miami: 2,788 NM

    P.S. We fall back an hour tonight … so we have a 25-hour day tomorrow.
    Read more